Weenus: It’s a Good Thing

07Jul10

From Maureen Johnson who is my new favourite author even though I haven’t read any of her books. Here is the preamble to her internet manifesto:

“MY POINT IS . . . it’s early days yet on the internet, and lines are being drawn. We can, if we group together, fight off the weenuses and hosebags who want to turn the internet into a giant commercial.”

Don’t you just LOVE Weenus? I’ll bet you thought of three people right off the bat. It works on so many wonderful levels I can’t wait to try it out.

It’s actually a real word; it’s the name for the loose skin on your elbow. But  like other anatomical bits, it has much more to offer when it describes the whole person. 

Challenge to all you Ask Kickers out there: what’s the plural?



4 Responses to “Weenus: It’s a Good Thing”

  1. I’ve been fighting off the weenuses and hosebags all my life. Where the heck has Maureen been? I’m going with “weenuses”.

  2. 2 Jonny G

    Weenii, pronounced ‘weenie-eye’ of course. Oh, and it appears from a short Googling session that ‘weenus’ for the loose skin on your elbow is slang or at best colloquial. But hey…

    • Jonny G you’re a weenie-eye. Everybody says so. Of course, since you’re in IT, it seems to me you should be iWeenie…(ducks to avoid….)


  1. 1 Hail Mary Marketing « B2B Marketing Unplugged

Leave a comment